Hello dear readers!

First I must update you on all the leechy business that’s been going on. I bled pretty much continuously from the wound until today. I peeled off the bandage this morning and the wound had finally clotted. Success! I thought, and went to have a shower. In the shower I absent-mindedly scraped it open again with the pouf, and bled everywhere, but it did clot shut again within the hour. It seems that most of the anticoagulant has now left my system/stopped affecting me.

Here is a picture of the puncture for you to enjoy – note the delightful purplish bruising radiating from the wound:

Leech wound

So hopefully it’s all gravy from here on out. Unless I, hilariously, get a terrible blood disease. Can you imagine my face if that happened!? Ha ha!

Also patch has been going on. I am not actually aware of how well I am doing in the rankings – I tend not to tot up my total in case I scare some of the records away – but I imagine I’m probably hovering around 250 species for patch, which probably places me below Richard and Africa and not far away from Robert, who has been really racking the species up lately. I imagine we are probably quite close to each other. I could check, but then where’s the mystery?

Have I seen anything interesting on patch? Yes. For example, here is a Red-Backed Shrike, which I believe to be a member of a special subspecies, characterised by blurriness:

RBSHRIKE

Not a species I was expecting on patch, an utter delight to behold. I also found a colony of Dingy Skippers, which surprised me, on the abandoned Kinderland site. Not what you’d call a common butterfly, really. My ‘The Butterflies of Yorkshire’ book seems to indicate they are less common than Marbled White in Yorkshire, so quite a nice species to find. They were very active, so the slightly out-of-focus shot below is the best I got:

Dingy Skipper

Yesterday I decided to run the moth trap, as it was a warm, humid and breezy night. There was nothing in it when I went to bed, but when I got up this morning at 4.00am to check on it, there were a few bits and pieces, almost all new for patch. I mean, these weren’t the kind of hauls one might expect from, say, my parent’s garden, but they are certainly better than being poked in the eye with a sharp stick.

Brimstone Moth:

Brimstone

Common Swift:

Common Swift

Grey Dagger agg. (As an agg., it won’t be appearing on my patch list)

Grey Dagger agg

Freyer’s Pug (A lifer! My 10th pug and 418th lepidopteran on my life list)

UNID pug2

Rustic Shoulder Knot:

UNID Noct

The micro moth Caloptilia syringella:

Unidentified micro

Also Spectacle, The Flame, Scalloped Hazel, Large Yellow Underwing, Garden Carpet & Bright-Line Brown-Eye as new species, as well as a Light Brown Apple Moth which I saw for the first time last week, and a horrible tatty pug. I’m not the biggest fan of pugs, I admit.

I also got this stunning Elephant Hawkmoth:

Elephant 2

Elephant 1

So pretty good night, in all. 12 new species for patch, with one micro I’m still working on.

