There have been lots of waterfowl flying down the coast over recent days, a boon for people with the gift of seawatching. Unfortunately my seawatching ability is roughly equivalent to that of a blind, dead, cut-up and burnt fox with no thumbs who hates looking through optical devices. Imagine my joy then when I received a text telling me that a party of twelve (Twelve!) Tundra Bean Geese had landed in the stubble field just behind the seawatching hut at Long Nab. These would be a lifer for me.

I quickly jumped into the car and set off, forgetting that there are roadworks at present between Scarborough and Burniston. After a slightly longer detour than I would have liked, I get into Burniston. My phone goes off again, and I pull over and check it. The message informs me that there are in fact eleven (Eleven!) Bean Geese and one White-Fronted Goose. I’ve only ever seen White-Fronted Geese twice before, so this is in fact an added sweetener. I fire up the engine and continue my journey.

I park up and walk almost all the way to the seawatching hut. As I arrive at a good spot for scoping the field, I get my third text of the morning, informing me that the Geese flew off north, but may have landed near Hundale Plantation. Long story short, after almost an hour of searching, I locate the geese, eleven gorgeous Tundra Bean Geese and one European White-Fronted Goose. I have an inordinate fondness for waterfowl, so this was a cracking morning for me. I’d post some pictures but I don’t have a camera capable of taking pictures over distance, and even if I did, I would keep the pictures close to my chest like shards of gold.

